October 08, 2017



LinkedIn Tip of the Week: How to keep all your information if your profile is lost

 

LinkedIn is constantly changing and so are its terms and conditions. As a heavy LinkedIn user you may have run into a warning from LinkedIn - and some of you may even have been locked out of your account.

The greatest risk of losing access to your account is the amount of data that is tied to your profile. Essentially, your list of LinkedIn contacts is an extension of your CRM system. As such, it's a bit worrying not to have complete control over the data.

Back up your LinkedIn data

To sleep better at night, you should back up your LinkedIn data at least a couple of times a year. And it's easy, with these simple steps:

  1. Click "My Network" in the top navigation bar on LinkedIn
  2. Click "See all" under "Your connections" on the left-hand side of the page
  3. In the top right-hand corner, click "Manage synced and imported contacts"
  4. Click "Export contacts" under "Advanced actions"
  5. Pick either "Fast file only" or "Fast file plus other data" and then click "Request archve".
  6. Provide your password and then your request will be queued and you will receive a mail with instructions on how to download your data file.

That's it. Your data will be safe and not solely reside on the servers of a large social network :)

 

 

... 

This blog post is part of our series of tips for LinkedIn in our newsletter "Tip of the week". Make sure you never miss a tip by signing up at the bottom of this page.

Thomas Sondergaard
Thomas Sondergaard

Author